26.9 C
Los Angeles
Tuesday, October 4, 2022

BJP To Contest All 60 Seats In Manipur Polls, Announces Candidates’ List

Corona NewsBJP To Contest All 60 Seats In Manipur Polls, Announces Candidates' List


Manipur elections 2022: The BJP will fight in all 60 seats in Manipur


The BJP will contest all 60 seats in the Manipur assembly elections, the party said today, as it released a list of its candidates. At least 10 former Congress leaders among 16 MLAs who joined the BJP have got tickets in Manipur.

Chief Minister N Biren Singh will contest from his traditional seat in Heingang. Another key minister in Manipur, Biswajit Singh, will contest from Thongju seat. Former national footballer Somatai Saiza will contest from Ukhrul.

In the 2017 election, the BJP won 21 seats, but formed government with the help of smaller parties and independent MLAs. Of these, 19 MLAs have been given party tickets and two have been dropped, BJP sources added.

The Manipur BJP has fielded only three women and one Muslim candidate. Former Manipur Congress chief who joined the BJP, Govindas Konthoujam, has also got a party ticket to contest the election.

Most loyalists of the Chief Minister have got party tickets, BJP sources said.

The three women are Nemcha Kipgen from Kangpokpi, SS Olish from Chandel, and Soraisam Kebi Devi from Naoriyapakhanglakpa. The BJP has also fielded three former Indian Administrative Service officers – Dinganglung Gangmei from Nungba, Yengkhom Surchandra Singh from Kakching, and Raghumani Singh from Uripok.

“BJP will contest all the 60 seats and will get a majority on its own. The Modi government has ensured that Manipur will get a stable government and will continue to ensure the development and peace of the region,” BJP’s Manipur election in-charge Bhupendra Yadav said.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance is in majority in the Manipur assembly. This includes 30 BJP MLAs, three MLAs from National People’s Party, four Naga People’s Front and three independents.


Source link

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles